General · Recipes

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Psssst. These have a secret healthy ingredient. You can see it, but you can’t taste it. And it keeps these cookies EXTRA moist and delicious.
photo 3
Zucchini. Lots of shredded zucchini makes it’s debut in this cookie dough, and it’s fabulous.

I was looking for recipes for zucchini (both for dinner and dessert) because I got two really big zucchinis at the farmer’s market, and I’m leaving for the weekend. By the time I got home, they would be all shriveled up and just gross…

So! I made lots of zoodles for dinner and made these cookies for dessert. But I ate them before dinner… that’s ok right? 😉

I picked up some chocolate chips on my way home, but otherwise these were SO easy because I had all the ingredients in my house already.

photo 1The only thing I didn’t have on hand was eggs, and I just dropped in about a quarter cup of applesauce. I learned that substitution from trying to cook for my vegan boss! Also, didn’t have QUITE a full stick of butter, so I filled the rest of the 1/2 cup with applesauce too.

Just a side note – if you want to cut out butter/sugar in a baking recipe, just substitute half with applesauce. You have to make sure not to overdo it though, because it will start tasting apple-y.

These cookies couldn’t be easier. The actual recipe (http://www.cookingclassy.com/2014/07/zucchini-oat-chocolate-chip-cookies/) calls for a stand mixer… but I sadly do not own one of those. But a hand mixer, or just good ole elbow grease, works perfectly fine in this situation.

Typical cookie recipe: mix the wet, mix the try, combine. Toss in add-ins (chocolate chips/nuts).

I am SO happy with how they came out. I could eat the batter straight and the cookies are even better!

I think I’m going to start adding zucchini to all my baked goods. Maybe next time I’ll puree it up so you can’t really see the chunks? Although I do like that color…


Oatmeal Chocolate Cookies

photo 2

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened (I had about two tablespoons missing that I substituted with unsweetened applesauce)
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1 large egg ( I substituted 1/4 cup applesauce here too)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded zucchini (from about 1 – 1 1/2 medium)
  • 1 cup quick oats
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 2/3 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a mixing bowl whisk together flour, cinnamon, baking soda and salt.

In a bowl, whip together butter, granulated sugar and brown sugar until creamy ( I used a hand mixer, or you could use a whisk if you’re prepared to work). Mix in egg (or applesauce)  and vanilla extract. Add zucchini and with mixer set on low speed, slowly add in flour mixture. Stir in oats, walnuts and chocolate chips (in case you’re wondering, there will be leftovers from the bag you can snack on while you bake them).

Shape dough into balls, about 2 Tbsp each, then transfer to a Silpat or parchment paper lined baking sheets. They don’t really spread so you can place them only an inch or two apart. Bake in preheated oven 12-15 minutes until edges are lightly golden. Cool on baking sheet 2 minutes then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Or if you’re me, just eat one straight out of the oven and curse yourself for burning your tongue on the sweet melty chocolate.

Store in an airtight container.

 

Leave a Reply

