General · Recipes

Banana Almond Butter Oatmeal

Now, this combination is anything but revolutionary. But the way I prepared it changes everything I previously thought about oatmeal preparation. Please forgive the photo, but I’m at work and fell upon this discovery with a paper bowl in my cube. I’ll try this again with beautiful photo skills at a later date. Like, maybe tomorrow…

IMG_4410

This creation started out when I realized I was all out of peanut butter. Oh the horror! I took home my container yesterday to refill it from the jar in the pantry and forgot… Probably because I was too busy loving on the adorable little Hailey baby with Alaina and Nathan.

Luckily, I had some almond butter in the fridge… so not all was lost. Otherwise it was going to be plain oatmeal for breakfast, which is less than desirable.

Then I found this old, brown banana in my cabinet and knew I could make something good.

IMG_4412

Most people are turned off by browning bananas, but that’s just silly. They become much sweeter and actually have more antioxidants than a pretty yellow one.

The first thing I think of when I see a brown banana is banana bread! I have fond memories of watching my mom save a few brown (and sometimes all the way black) bananas, and the anticipation I felt when I knew banana bread was on the horizon. So, therefore mushy old bananas = sweet treats to Laura.

Cue breakfast. I put half a banana in my bowl and mashed it up. Then I mixed in the oats and some hot water and cooked it all in the microwave. Topped with a little bit of creamy almond butter from the fridge, and it was good to go. All melty, and banana bread-reminiscent.

The consistency was thicker because of the banana cooked into the oatmeal, but not bready at all. You could still get the mouth-feel of both the chewy oats and the mashed banana.

Go try some. I’d suggest peanut butter though. Because it’s more delicious and creamier.

And it’s peanut butter


Banana Almond Butter Oatmeal

Ingredients

  • Half a large, old, brown banana
  • 1/3 cup oats (I used Trader Joe’s Oven Toasted Old Fashioned Organic Oats)
  • Hot water
  • 1-2 Tbsp nut butter of choice (I used Kirkland Smooth Almond Butter)

Mash up your banana in a microwave-safe bowl.

Add oats and mix together until all oats are coated with mashed banana. It will be thick.

Add about 1/3 cup hot water. I get mine from the water dispenser in the break room so it’s REALLY hot, you could just use hot tap water since it’s going in the microwave.

Heat for one minute on high in the microwave. Mix and heat for another 30 seconds.

Add almond butter on top.

Eat!

 

Nutrition: Calories 265, Carbs 36g, Fat 11g, Protein 8g, Sugars 10g

Leave a Reply

