General

Bacon Truffles and a Happy New Year!

Happy New Year everybody! Welcome 2016. Is it “twenty sixteen” or “two thousand sixteen”? I didn’t even consider the former until I wished a coworker the latter and we had a discussion about it. I prefer the latter. Happy Two Thousand Sixteen 🙂

My New Years Eve celebrations were the tamest I’ve had in a long time. In high school, it was a competition to see how late we could stay up. Six AM was, like, the cool time to finally go to sleep. And in college it was all about partying the hardest we could. Even the last couple years have been fancy parties and staying up well past midnight.

This year, it was more mellow. We all just drank some champagne and toasted with a couple shots of bourbon. We called it an early night at about 1:30 AM. And I’m A-Okay with that! I got to spend time with some of the people I care about the most, and what a better way to ring in the new year?

IMG_55801

If anybody follows me in on Pinterest, you know that I have SO many food pins that they’re categorized out in boards like “breakfast”, “desserts”, and “Christmas”. My mom made a comment the other day, “I just have one board called ‘food’, and you have so many they’re in categories!” Yes. That’s how much I’m into food.

So for the post-holiday party Aa and I attended, I headed straight to my Appetizers, Sides and Snacks board and began scrolling. Bingo: roasted red pepper + bacon goat cheese truffles. I feel that bacon is the buzz word that sparks everybody’s attention lately. The rest of the ingredients could include dirt, slime, or something totally unappealing, but add in bacon and everybody wants a piece. So these guys seemed like a safe bet.

And boy were they delicious! Placed among other, more recognizable appetizers, I got many questions about what these green balls were. But every person that tried one was pleased. I didn’t add the spices that were called for in her original recipe (pepper and garlic salt), so I wonder if they’re even needed.

You can view the original recipe here, or just check out my slight adaptation below. After I made these, it got me thinking about ways to make some truffles with different add-in’s or even sweeten them up. Figs and honey? Scallions, soy sauce and cashews? The possibilities are endless.


IMG_55831

Savory Goat Cheese Truffles with Bacon and Red Peppers

  • 8 ounces plain goat cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup chopped roasted red pepper*
  • 3 slices thick-cut bacon, fried and chopped
  • 3/4 cup pistachios, chopped small (or coarsely ground)

In a large bowl, combine goat cheese with chopped peppers and bacon. Mix until well combined. Portion out using a tablespoon or (even better) a mini ice-cream scoop, roll into a ball, then roll around in the pistachios to coat.

Set on a plate and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes before serving. Store leftovers in the fridge (but I doubt you’ll have any).

*I used canned sweet and hot red peppers and they were delicious. Because they were mixed with the mellow, tangy goat cheese, any heat added nice flavor but wasn’t spicy.


Happy 2016!

IMG_5584

2 thoughts on “Bacon Truffles and a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

