General · Recipes

Pork Stir-fry with Shirataki Noodles

‘What the heck are shirataki noodles!?’ you might ask. Well, they are clear noodles made from yams. Yes, yams. Aka sweet potatoes. Yes, weird, I know.

If you’re anything like me, you’re always on the hunt for low-carb and low-calorie alternatives for things like pasta and bread (which I will NEVER give up, but should probably cut back on a little bit).  My life is that meme:

1333391684151_6047448

I love food. It’s my passion, my hobby, my obsession. And being a (half) Italian girl, I grew up with lots of pasta, garlic bread and homemade meat sauce. YUM.

So I’ve tried spiralizing all kinds of vegetables to substitute pasta: zucchini, sweet potatoes, beets, regular potatoes, you name it. And don’t get me wrong, I love me some zoodles. But sometimes it’s nice to eat something that feels like REAL noodles and not feel guilty afterward.

Here, my friends, cue the shirataki. You can find them in the refrigerated section by the tofu and wonton wrappers. They look like this:

n_traditional_shirataki

They boast ZERO CALORIES! And all those other buzz words: gluten free, vegan, soy free…

Obviously these are an Asian creation, so they suit dishes with an Asian flair. They would be great in a homemade broth soup or with a stir-fry (like I made). They look like the clear cellophane noodles you get in a Vietnamese restaurant.

Fair warning: they smell a little bit weird. But the directions warn you. You’re supposed to rinse them very well and then boil them to get rid of the smell and flavor. Then they taste like pretty much nothing – just a good consistency to sop up whatever sauce you create.

I made this stir-fry on one of those nights were I just stopped at Sprouts on my way home and scooped up a few things that looked good. I grabbed some pre-cut pork strips, a couple pre-made vegetable kabobs (to disassemble at home), and these noodles. And I was so pleased.


Pork Stir-fry with Shirataki Noodles

IMG_4015

Ingredients

  • 1 Package Shirataki Noodles (can use tofu or other variations)
  • ~1 lb pork loin, cut into strips
  • Vegetables of choice (I used bell pepper, onion, mushrooms) cut into strips
  • 2 Tbsp Chinese Five Spice
  • 1 Tbsp Asian Chili Sauce
  • 1 Tbsp Oyster Sauce (can substitute for Hoisin or any other dark Asian sauce)
  • Oil/cooking spray/butter/ghee for pan

Directions

Rinse noodles well drain. Boil the shirataki noodles for 2-3 minutes and drain. Set aside.

Heat your choice of oil/cooking spray/butter/ghee in a large non-stick skillet or wok.

Coat pork strips with the Chinese Five Spice. Add pork to the pan and saute until no longer pink. Remove from pan and set aside.

Add the vegetables to the same pan, with more oil if necessary. Stir fry vegetables until soft and onion is translucent (8-10 minutes). Add the Asian Chili Sauce and Oyster Sauce to the vegetables and stir to coat.

Add the pork and shirataki noodles to the pan. Stir to coat and serve immediately.

I served my stir fry with a store-bought Asian Chopped Salad.


This “recipe” is so open to interpretation. You could use different protein, or omit it all together. You can use whatever sauce you have lying around – I bet a peanut sauce would be great with this stir-fry as well.

Next time I’m going to try making a noodle soup – pho if I’m feeling adventurous!

Leave a Reply

