General · Recipes

Sriracha Shrimp with Noodles, Zoodles, and Chard

If you like spicy, and especially if you like sriracha (a.k.a. Rooster Sauce), you have to make these shrimp! They’re really spicy, a little bit sweet, and totally delicious. Honestly, you could probably put this sauce on any meat or vegetable you want – chicken, pork, ooh potatoes or butternut squash even.

IMG_2901

I am basically obsessed with zoodles. And any other vegetable noodles I can create. They’re low cal, healthy, plant-based substitutions for regular noodles. I LOVE IT.

It still amazes me how much my tastes have changed once I decided to clean up my diet and start eating more vegetables. I actually want them, which was a foreign concept to me a few years ago.

IMG_2899

I make sure to grab a bunch of rainbow chard every time I hit up the Saturday Farmer’s Market, so that’s a staple in my dinners, lunches, even breakfasts sometimes. I always slice off the stalk part and cut it up to saute with my onion/garlic/pepper medley. I had some green onions, garlic, and a fresh chopped cayenne pepper in here.

Every time I say it, someone makes a joke about pot, but I seriously love herbs! I’m talking basil, rosemary, cilantro, parsley…. not the illicit kind! They brighten up any dish and make it so much more flavorful.

Also citrus. I squeeze lemon, lime, sometimes orange, into EVERY dish I make. The lime and cilantro combination is a traditional one that I like to keep together whenever I can – like I did for dinner.

IMG_28991

On a whim, I got some Bahn Pho noodles, to make my own pho noodle soup at home. While putting this together, I decided to try and integrate them into dinner since I was going with an Asian inspiration in my flavor profile. I did not regret this choice.

These noodles are unlike any normal wheat noodles I’ve made. You have to soak them in room temperature water for 15-20 minutes to soften them up before you put them in a soup, or like I did, saute them up in a pan.

IMG_2900

So, sometimes I use my spiralizer to make zucchini noodles, and sometimes I use my mandolin.  The spiralizer makes more noodle-looking cuts and the mandolin just makes strips. I was feeling the strip look, so I set my mandolin to the tiniest setting (1/16th of an inch I think) and sliced up some squash.

I made those beautiful zucchini ribbons that you can barely see there in the back.

Doing this food blog is really hard because I have to stop and take a picture while I’m cooking. This, let me tell you, is very unnatural. Especially to anybody that’s seen me in the kitchen. I am a whirlwind tornado and you should probably steer clear if you value your life!

IMG_2898

You’ll notice that nice glass of wine sitting with my cutting board there. Another staple in my house. I love me some wine 🙂 And in summer, it’s gotta be a Sauv Blanc… no questions asked.

Below is a picture of the same shrimp with some boiled beets and sauteed beet greens. Another 100% success. I tossed in some adorable mini heirloom tomatoes – but you can’t really see them here.

IMG_2947


 

Spicy Sriracha Shrimp

This recipe is just for one serving (since that’s how I eat)

  • 4 oz raw shrimp (I use the raw tail-on frozen package from Costco – that’s about 9 or 10 shrimp)
  • 1 green onion (whites and greens), chopped
  • 1/4 cup cilantro leaves, chopped
  • Juice of half a lime
  • 1 tsp sriracha chile sauce
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • salt and pepper to taste

Whisk together all ingredients (except shrimp) until combined. Toss in the shrimp and marinate them while you prepare the rest of dinner. When you’re ready to cook them, put in straight into a skillet heated to medium-high. They’ll cook up in about two minutes on one side and two on the other.

For this specific dinner, I sauteed up some chard stems, 1 cayenne pepper, 1 minced garlic clove, and 1 chopped green onion. Then wilted the chard leaves on top of that. I sliced my small zucchini really thinly and placed that on the plate first. Then the chard mixture. I sauteed the bahn noodles in a little bit (maybe 1 tsp) of sesame oil and put those on top.  Cooked up my shrimp at the very end and topped them with a fresh sprinkling of cilantro. I highly recommend this dinner!

One serving was 332 calories, 42g carbs, 7g fat, 25g protein, 748mg sodium, and 4g sugar.

Leave a Reply

