General · Recipes

Sweet Treats: Strawberry Banana Cupcakes

I made these little adorable strawberry banana cupcakes for Morgan’s baby shower. With bows. First time I’ve ever made marshmallow fondant, and I am pleased – even though there’s MILES of room for improvement. At least they tasted good… and you could tell they were supposed to be pink bows.

cupcakesphoto 8

I got the idea from a recipe that I’d had saved for a while, but tweaked it up quite a bit… I almost don’t want to share because hers look SO much better! http://seddy5.typepad.com/blog/2010/07/strawberry-cupcakes.html

So looking over the recipe, I decided to try and health it up a bit since it called for a LOT of sugar and butter. And  know from experience that you can only sub so much applesauce before they start tasting too apple-y… and these did not call for that flavor-profile.

photo 1

I was SUPER multitasking in the kitchen this day. There is clearly no asparagus or onions in the cupcakes because… ew. Those are for the quiches I brought over to the baby shower. They were not as good as I’d hoped, so I’m not even going to bother sharing!

photo 9

I love my mom’s stand mixer. Every time I come home, I get jealous that I don’t have one. But I’m too cheap and won’t shell out the $300+ it costs to own one of these babies.

So, I got a little overzealous when I was combining ingredients in there…. but what’s a good baking experience without a big ole mess to clean up!

This recipe made over two dozen cupcakes, which I did not need for a baby shower with 12 attendees. I guess I overlooked that one. But it did mean I got to eat more for myself in the the test-this-out-and-try-not-to-eat-the-whole-batch phase.

I had some help frosting them when they got to Morgan’s parent’s house. Renee, Kim and the baby-mama herself helped whip up some heavy whipping cream so I could use that for frosting. And then topped them with my premade bows

photo 3

Strawberry Banana Cupcakes

4 1/2 cups Softasilk Cake Flour

2 cups Sugar White Granulated

1/2 cup Unsweetened Applesauce

2 very ripe bananas

5 1/4 tsp Baking Powder (weird measurement yes, but that’s what her recipe called for!)

3/4 tsp Salt

1 Stick of Butter

2 cups Fresh Pureed Strawberries (i just put them in the blender with a tablespoon of water)

8 Large Egg Whites

3/4 cups Milk

Just a few drops of Red Food Coloring

 

Preheat the oven to 350 F and line a muffin pan with cupcake papers

Combine the dry ingredients

Add in the strawberries and butter. Be careful… this is where my mess came from. Once combined, beat until light and fluffy, about 2 to 3 minutes

Combine the rest of the wet ingredients. Then add them into the batter in two or three additions.

Pour into your cupcake liners and bake for about 20 minutes.

 

*The bananas make this a denser cupcake – almost a muffin – so they might need to bake a little longer

 

 

Leave a Reply

