General

Sauces and Spreads

photo 3

After doing the Whole30, I realized that there are so many condiments that I had been missing out on smothering all over my food… Why bother restricting my already healthy diet? Never again!

So, that being said, I have a board on my Pinterest called “Jars”. And as you can probably guess, it’s filled with tasty things that come in jars. Jams, butters, extracts, dressings, sauces, and more!

photo 1

I decided to start with some burger-topping recipes because we’re doing a Friends BBQ this weekend. The beauty you’re looking at above is a sweet and spicy pepper relish. One of the easier recipes I’ve made… I edited it a little bit from a recipe I found on Food52 (http://food52.com/recipes/20017-torrisi-s-spicy-sauce).

 

SWEET AND SPICY PEPPER RELISH (Yields 15 servings, 40 calories each)

2 ounces sweet cherry peppers , stemmed and seeded

2 ounces sliced, picked jalapeno peppers

2 ounces roasted red peppers

2 ounces crushed tomato (I used whole canned tomatoes that I crush by hand)

1/4 cup olive oil

1/4 teaspoon chile flakes

1/4 teaspoon dried oregano

1/4 teaspoon sugar

Salt to taste

Put all ingredients into a food processor or blender and pulse a few times until just combined. Don’t blend until smooth – you want some texture and mouth feel left in there.

 


 

While I blended that beauty up, I had some mustard barbeque sauce simmering on the stove. It is seriously my new favorite condiment. It’s a mixture of mustard, ketchup and spice. yum

I was snacking on it with crackers, veggies, even on a homemade veggie sushi roll I whipped up. I will seriously keep this one around as a staple in my fridge. I imagine it would be good over chicken or fish. Or even thinned out as a dressing…. oh the possibilities.

I pulled this one from Food52 as well and stuck straight to the recipe. See website for reference and instructions: http://food52.com/recipes/21962-giddy-swamp-south-carolina-mustard-barbecue-sauce

SO GOOD!

photo 5

SOUTH CAROLINA MUSTARD BARBEQUE SAUCE (Yields 15 servings, 25 calories each)

1 tablespoon olive oil

1/4 cup minced onion (I used green onions because I completely forgot to buy an onion!)

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup yellow mustard (I used French’s)

1 teaspoon dry mustard

1/4 cup ketchup

2 tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon chili powder

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

1 tablespoon freshly ground pepper

1 tablespoon red pepper flakes (yes a tablespoon, you want it in there)

3/4 cups water

Saute onions and garlic in the olive oil over medium heat until translucent. Whisk in the rest of the ingredients and let simmer for about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Try not to eat it all up before you get to share with friends.

 


 

Up next… Caramelized Onion Jam. Oh. Em. Gee. Cheese plate, here I come.

photo 04

And that’s immediately what I did upon finishing this one up. Didn’t even wait for it to cool! If you are a fan of onions, if you are a fan of caramelized onions, you need to make this STAT.

I’m going to bring it to the barbecue this weekend or I might have already made myself sick with it!

It’s super easy. Saute some onions in butter, add a bunch of wine and little bit of sugar, and wait for it to thicken a little.

This one actually came from Food & Wine – another much loved site for delicious recipe ideas.

 

CARAMELIZED ONION JAM (Yields 15 servings, 45 calories each)

1 Large Vidalia (or other sweet) onion

8 ounces dry white wine (the recipe suggested Sav Blanc, but I used a Pinot Grigio)

2 Tbsp unsalted sweet cream butter

4 Tbsp granulated white sugar

Thinly slice onion and saute over medium heat with butter until soft. Add wine and sugar and simmer for about 30 minutes until sticky. Stir frequently as it doesn’t stick to the pan.

Scoop in into a jar, or straight onto a cheese plate. This would be amazing on a grilled cheese too!

 


 

 

My next endeavour is going to be roasted tomato jam. Pair that with the caramelized onion jam on a grilled cheese and that sounds like a sweet, savory, salty, heavenly mouthful!

Leave a Reply

