General

Shrimp-Topped Portabella with Asparagus and Tomato Salad

Random things all falling together into a meal? Yes that is my typical dinner 🙂

photo15I found those little mini heirloom tomatoes at Trader Joe’s and thought they were just adorable. I usually just stroll through the produce section to see what sounds good and grab it. So this night my grab bag included bell peppers, asparagus, portabella caps and mini tomatoes. Not pictured is a HUGE bunch of basil and a bag of spinach that were dying to become some sort of sauce or pesto. I also had an onion from the farmer’s market last Thursday.

photo6I don’t have a picture of the sauce – I’m still getting used to prepping, stopping, cooking, taking pictures, etc…  I put 2 oz basil leaves, 3 oz of baby spinach, 1 Tbsp olive oil, four whole garlic cloves, the juice of half a lemon, and couple cranks each of salt and pepper into the food processor and blended until a pesto-like consistency formed. I can’t technically call this a pesto because there are no nuts or cheese in it, but it’s still a pesto in my kitchen.

photo8

I tossed about a tablespoon of the “pesto” with some beautiful jumbo shrimp that I also picked up from Trader Joe’s on my escapade through the store. I had to defrost them and towel-dry before tossing in my sauce to make sure it sticks. Then I just let them sit there and marinate a minute while I prepped and started the rest.

photo9

I just love these little colorful tomatoes. Well, colorful food in general. It’s so much more appetizing!

photo10

Threw a whole orange bell pepper and some slices of onion in the pan with a couple garlic cloves.

photo11

In my tiny grill pan, I pretended I was outside at a real grill and cooked up the asparagus and mushroom. I steamed the asparagus first without the mushroom (boiled some water, tossed them in and covered for a few minutes), then let the pan dry up a bit and placed the portabella cap gill-side down.

photo12

Then I flipped him over to finish softening him up.

photo13

It’s really nice when you can use as few pans as possible, because then clean up is much quicker. For that reason, I put my shrimpies in there and turned up the heat almost to high. I wanted to warm up the tomatoes too, so I tossed them in on the other side.

After a few minutes on each side, the shrimp were done and the rest were good to go too.

To finish up, I tossed the asparagus with some lemon juice and zest, and sprinkled some S&P on the tomatoes.

photo15

It might not look like too much, but I was pleasantly full after eating all this.

Of course, that doesn’t mean there isn’t room for dessert a couple hours later. Banana “ice cream” with chocolate sauce and white chocolate chips definitely satisfies. MMMMM

photo17

Leave a Reply

