General

Mother’s Day Brunch

Mother’s Day brunch was a success. Actually, the whole weekend was pretty great.

photo 5

 

I brought my Mama breakfast in bed on Saturday (mostly just because she was being lazy and hadn’t gotten up yet, this wasn’t for Mother’s Day or anything). Made some zucchini with a poached egg on top. I love poached eggs. And I can get them to that perfect runny yolk that so many restaurants just SUCK at doing correctly… even the fancy ones!

Then we did an olive oil tasting. My parents bought a few fancy olive oils on their anniversary trip in Sonoma, and we wanted to see if we could tell the difference between the expensive ones and the Costco brand we always get. Also, we wanted to pick a favorite.

photo 3

Dad poured and labeled them (and remembered which ones he put where, which was completely against the whole point of the exercise) and we got ready to taste. I cut up a bunch of french bread into little cubes and we put a few different cheeses and some berries on a platter for snacking.

photo 4

We all picked out the Costco/Kirkland one. Mom, Em and I liked the more peppery one, and Dad actually liked the Costco one! Needless to say, I ate WAY too much cheese and bread. And enjoyed every minute of stuffing my face.

It’s going to be hard doing that Whole 30 Challenge. No wine. No cheese. No bread… ahhhhh!

Saturday night was nice too. Got together with good friends for a couple drinks and a couple quesadillas (apparently if you order a chicken quesadilla, they don’t think you still want the cheese). I was good and only had two drinks all night – so I would be ready for brunch!

I was ready with a recipe from the one and only Martha Stewart and a couple other ideas for a spectacular brunch with the family.

I made Martha’s  Leek and Tomato Frittata (which was almost souffle-ish, very good). I need to get an oven-safe pan though because I put my mom’s baking dish on the stove stop for a couple minutes thinking all would be fine… only for it to crack and break. WOOPS! I switched dishes and it came out lovely.

photo 4_1

Crispy potatoes are a staple in the Albanese family kitchen for breakfast. The last time I made them, I hadn’t quite perfected them the way Mom does and was reprimanded for screwing it up. This time, though, I got high marks 🙂 The key to the crispy potatoes was some ghee AND some olive oil.

photo 2_1

I felt like we needed some kind of veggie with all this, and I love asparagus. It just happens to be in season too. So I sauteed that up with some salt, pepper and garlic salt. YUM!

photo 1_1

We enjoyed it all. See below for recipes!

 


Leek and Tomato Frittata (this is more like a souffle because it’s so fluffy)

http://www.marthastewart.com/312735/tomato-and-leek-frittata

Just go there, I followed the directions exactly. It came out GREAT!

 


Crispy Fried Potatoes

3 large russet potatoes

1 heaping Tbsp ghee (you could use butter too if you don’t have it)

2 Tbsp olive oil

Salt and pepper to taste

Prick the potatoes with a fork or knife a few times and pop in the microwave for about 5 minutes to soften them up before you pan-fry them. When cool enough to handle, cube them up (about 1/2 inch to an inch depending how you like it).

Heat a large skillet on medium high and melt the ghee (or butter if using). Once melted, throw in the potatoes and let sit for a couple minutes without touching or moving around.

Stir them every once in a while, adding a little bit of oil as you go to make sure they’re all coated well and can crisp up. Keep cooking until they look good.

I probably had these going for a good half hour while I did everything else.

 


Simple Asparagus

Cut off the ugly ends (where they’re purple-ish and fibrous). Put a little bit of water in a pan that will fit the asparagus flat and bring up to a simmer. Cover and let steam for about 10 minutes until almost floppy and tender. Uncover and allow water to evaporate and asparagus to brown a little bit. Sprinkle with about a tablespoon of oil, salt and pepper, and garlic powder.

 


Cranberry Orange Mimosas

Fill champagne glass (or a wine glass if you are like us and don’t own them) about 2/3 full. Add a splash of orange juice and a little bit more cranberry juice. You want the color to be pink. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

