General · Recipes

Roasted Tomato and Tomatillo Salsa

photo 8

Took me a few days to get this one up, but here it is! I HIGHLY recommend making this if you like salsa… it’s sooooooooo easy to make your own and then you know exactly what goes into it. Plus you can tweak it to your taste buds.

Next time I’m definitely throwing some garlic cloves on the cookie sheet with the other veggies. And a lime would  probably be better than the lemon – give it a little more zing – but that’s what I had and it still came out fantastic.

I made a stop at Raley’s on my way back from the gym because I knew I had nothing to eat/make at home. I grabbed an eggplant because it was calling to me, but I got side tracked by the cilantro and tomatillos. I decided right there to grab the rest of the makings of a salsa verde-ish.

I got ’em all home and set the oven to broil. I had made roasted salsa verde one time before, and I knew I wanted to use the same technique.

photo 4

I had a couple onions, so I cut the bottoms off, peeled the skins off the tomatillos and rinsed off the stickiness from their skin, then halved and seeded my peppers. Put this all in the oven for about 15 minutes. All that charred goodness, mmmmm

photo 3

So I peeled the skin off the tomato because it was practically falling off and peeled the skin off the pasilla as well. Toss them all in the food processor (no need to chop anything) with a handful of cilantro, some lemon juice, and a good healthy sprinkling of both salt and pepper.

photo 6

Pulse for a few seconds and voila

photo 7 


 

Roasted Tomato and Tomatillo Salsa

1 medium “vine” tomato (4.5 oz)

4 little tomatillos (3.5 oz)

2 large jalapenos (1.5 oz)

1 large pasilla chile (4 oz)

2 whole large green onions (2.5 oz)

1 loose cup fresh cilantro (really just a handful)

Juice from 1/2 a lemon

Few cranks of salt and pepper

 

Preheat broiler to High

Peel off papery skin and wash tomatillos. Halve and seed the jalapenos and pasilla chiles. Cut off the root end of the green onions.

Place tomato, tomatillos, peppers and onions on a baking sheet lined with either a silpat or some foil. Broil for 15 minutes.

Place roasted vegetables, cilantro, lemon juice, and salt and pepper in a food processor.

Blend until desired consistency (will only take about 30 seconds)

 

This makes 3 servings of a few tablespoons at only 40 calories each!

 


Since I had that eggplant staring at me, I sliced and steamed it in a pan while my salsa was roasting. I stuck it on a plate and topped it with a generous helping of the still-warm salsa and some grated sharp cheddar. It was very tasty. I was in a hurry to get out the door, or else I would have constructed a better meal. Maybe on top of some brown rice or with a big slice of garlic bread on the side.

photo 91

Leave a Reply

